What's the difference between sharing a collection and assigning activities?

What's the difference between sharing a collection and assigning activities?

Sharing a collection with students and assigning an activity are two different things.

When you share a collection with your students, sharing does not mean assigning the activities contained in the collection.
These activities will not appear in the Activites report but rather in the Collections Report.
The collections shared with your students will be prominently displayed on their homepage in the My Library section.

Activities that are assigned will appear in your Activities report. For your students, they will appear in the Activities to do section located on their homepage.